Adventures in Baking No. 20: Blueberry Sorbet!

Adventures in Baking No. 20: Blueberry Sorbet!

Yesterday I made a blueberry sorbet using the simple syrup recipe from The Ciao Bella Book of Gelato and Sorbet (thanks, local library!) and an improvised amount of blueberry and lemon juice puree. I’ve never had sorbet, so I was excited to see what the difference was between my creation and ice cream!

First, I made the simple syrup, which is the base for many fruit-based sorbets. Basically, you dissolve sugar in water by boiling the mixture and then letting it simmer before allowing the mixture to cool. (I think boiling the water allows for more sugar to dissolve, but don’t quote me on it.) Then I refrigerated my syrup for about an hour.

File_005 (7)
My finished simple syrup

Next, I pureed about 4 cups of defrosted blueberries with some water and some lemon juice. This was much harder than it sounds, because the blueberries kept getting stuck under the blender’s blades, preventing the blades from actually pureeing anything. I ended up mashing the berries with a spoon before pouring them back into the blender a little at a time. This whole process took about 30 minutes (way too long for a step that was supposed to consist of chucking fruit in a blender and pushing a button).

File_004 (11)
An action shot of my blender difficulties! Oh, the suspense!

Finally, however, I ended up with a blueberry puree that was smooth and reasonably liquid-y. Then I just mixed my puree with the simple syrup and churned the mixture in my ice cream maker. 20 minutes later, I had a sorbet!

File_003 (14)
My sorbet at the beginning of the churning process
File_002 (17)
My churned sorbet!

The sorbet was a beautiful purple color, with a clean, refreshing blueberry flavor. The texture was icy and smooth – definitely less fatty than an ice cream! I loved the sorbet and I was really happy that my minor improvisation worked! (No, the cookbook did not have a recipe for blueberry sorbet, but it did say that many fruit purees could be added to the simple syrup to successfully make a sorbet. So, I kind of used a recipe?)

File_000 (32)
My sorbet, with its beautiful purple (pink? magenta?) color

I will definitely make another sorbet in the future (probably lemon, because I love lemons). For now, I’ll enjoy (and eat) my successful frozen dessert!

One thought on “Adventures in Baking No. 20: Blueberry Sorbet!

Leave a Reply

